TALK & OPINIONS BY SILVIO CANTO JR.

We discuss politics, sports and a few extras!

We remember Richard Harris (1930-2002)

leave a comment »

51gw9qkadtl

Richard Harris was born on this day in 1930.   He was a great actor.    We saw him in movies and on the stage.      In the summer of 1968, he got together with Jim Webb and released one of the best pop songs ever written:  “McArthur Park”

It was written by Jim Webb about a girl that he loved as a young man.   They used to meet a McArthur Park in Los Angeles at lunch time.   The lyrics are awesome and often very complicated to understand.   Nevertheless, it was a great love song:

 

 
“Spring was never waiting for us, girl 
It ran one step ahead 
As we followed in the dance 
Between the parted pages and were pressed 
In love’s hot, fevered iron
Like a striped pair of pants 

MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark 
All the sweet, green icing flowing down 
Someone left the cake out in the rain 
I don’t think that I can take it 
‘Cause it took so long to bake it 
And I’ll never have that recipe again 
Oh, no! 
I recall the yellow cotton dress
Foaming like a wave On the ground around your knees 

The birds, like tender babies in your hands 
And the old men playing checkers by the trees 
MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark 
All the sweet, green icing flowing down 
Someone left the cake out in the rain 
I don’t think that I can take it
‘Cause it took so long to bake it 

And I’ll never have that recipe again 
Oh, no! 
There will be another song for me 
For I will sing it 
There will be another dream for me
Someone will bring it 

I will drink the wine while it is warm 
And never let you catch me looking at the sun 
And after all the loves of my life 
After all the loves of my life 
You’ll still be the one 
I will take my life into my hands
and I will use it
 
I will win the worship in their eyes
and I will lose it
 
I will have the things that I desire 
And my passion flow like rivers through the sky 
And after all the loves of my life 
After all the loves of my life 
I’ll be thinking of you And wondering why 
MacArthur’s Park is melting in the dark 
All the sweet, green icing flowing down 
Someone left the cake out in the rain 
I don’t think that I can take it 
‘Cause it took so long to bake it 
And I’ll never have that recipe again 
Oh, no!”
Written by scantojr

October 1, 2016 at 10:00 am

Leave a Reply

