TALK & OPINIONS BY SILVIO CANTO JR.

We discuss politics, sports and a few extras!

Just read that Bobby Vee has Alzheimer’s disease

leave a comment »

bobby-vee-2-sized

A few days ago, I read that Bobby Vee, the 1960s teen idol, has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease.     Bobby turned 73 in April and retired shortly after getting the diagnosis.

This is the article from Billboard in 2012:   

Former 1960s teen pop idol Bobby Vee says he’s been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. The 69-year-old, born Robert Velline in Fargo, N.D., says on his website that he was diagnosed last year.

“Needless to say it was a moment that stunned my family and myself to the core,” the singer writes. “Since this time I have chosen to remain private and to focus on what is most important to me: my family and my music.”    

Vee was born Robert Thomas Velline in Fargo, South Dakota.   He recently lost his wife of 50 years.     

Again,  I am a bit late to the story.   We wish Bobby the best.  

He recorded a lot of great songs.    He put 30 songs in the Billboard Top 100 including several in the Top 10:  “Take Good Care of My Baby” # 1, “Devil or Angel” “Rubber Ball” “More Than I Can Say”, “Run to Him”, “The Night Has a Thousand eyes”, and “Come Back When You Grow Up”.    As I understand, he was one of the first artists to use what we now call a video to promote a song.

My favorite is “The night has a thousand eyes”:

 

 

Written by scantojr

September 14, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Posted in Pop music

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

